Some Of My Favs About The Jobs I’ve Had

Although I’ve barely touched the surface on the jobs I’ve had, I wanted to share some of my favorite things. If by chance you don’t want to wait send me an email and I will forward my resume.

I already told you about the deer skinning experience, so I’ll spare you more details. When I was 13 I went to work as a dishwasher at the local cafe. Let’s be honest, washing dishes was not my favorite thing to do. But I made the job fun. At the end of each night we would crank the radio up as loud as we could and make music with the utensils. It became a nightly ritual.

When I was 14 I started working for the local newspaper. My cousin just happened to be my boss. I worked there during the day in the summertime and washed dishes at the cafe at night. One of many memories I had there was going through all of the old issues and seeing the changes over the years. More info on my newspaper days to come.

I moved to Nashville after graduation in 2001 to pursue songwriting. I became a waitress to pay the bills. There was a Shoney’s one block from my apartment, but I chose to work at the Shoney’s 20 minutes away, next to the Grand Ole Opry. I was told I could see the stars there, and I did see some. My favorite part of working there though was meeting Alneta. She was the “mother hen” of the place. She took me under her wing and treated me as if she had known me all of her life. Every night she would sing me a song she had wrote or recite her latest poem, putting her arm around me and telling me that I had a bright future.

Another favorite was being employed for Bodies… The Exhibition. I know, just the name sounds creepy. It was an exhibit to show the depths of what the human body looks like and can do. It was a pretty amazing place. One of my favorite parts of the job was reading the testimonies at the end of the exhibit. So many people gave credit to God for the wonderful creation He made. It made me happy to know that an exhibit ran by those who didn’t necessarily live a Christian life touched the lives of those who did.

That’s just a few memories in a nutshell – more to come.

Visit my personal blog @ www.sundijo.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

